and Water Resources Branch has charge of construction works for all other branches, the measure and record of stream flow, and the investigation of water-power resources; the Northern Administration and Lands Branch deals with business concerning the local government of the Northwest Territories and of Yukon Territory and administers lands, timber, minerals and other resources of the Territories; the Forestry Branch conducts forest experiment stations and forest products laboratories and administers federal assistance to the provinces under the Canada Forestry Act; the Canadian Government Travel Bureau promotes the tourist industry by encouraging tourist travel from abroad and interprovincial travel in Canada.

The Minister of Resources and Development is also responsible to Parliament for the Eastern Rockies Forest Conservation Board, the Northwest Territories Power Commission, the National Battlefields Commission, the Historic Sites and Monuments Board, and the Advisory Board on Wildlife Protection.

Department of the Secretary of State.—The Department of the Secretary of State was constituted in its present form in 1873. The Secretary of State is the official spokesman of the Federal Government as well as the medium of communication between the Federal and Provincial Governments, all correspondence between the Governments being conducted through his Department with the Lieutenant-Governors. He is the custodian of the Great Seal of Canada and the Privy Seal of the Governor General as well as being the channel through which the general public may approach the Crown.

The Secretary of State is the Registrar General of Canada, registering all proclamations, commissions, licences, warrants, writs and other instruments issued under the Great Seal and certain instruments issued under the Privy Seal. He is responsible for the collection and tabling of parliamentary returns.

The Secretary of State also deals with the organization and administration of the Office of the Custodian of Enemy Property. The Civil Service Commission, the Department of Public Printing and Stationery, the Public Archives, and the Chief Electoral Office are under the jurisdiction of the Secretary of State, but each of the three Civil Service Commissioners, the Queen's Printer, the Public Archivist and the Chief Electoral Office has the rank of a Deputy Minister.

The Department of the Secretary of State deals with correspondence concerning the Copyright Appeal Board, the Awards Co-ordination Committee, the Public Records Committee and the Inter-departmental Committee on the use of Parliament Hill. The Special Division deals with domestic protocol, government hospitality and related matters.

Department of Trade and Commerce.—The Department of Trade and Commerce was established by Act of Parliament on June 23, 1887, but did not function until Dec. 5, 1892, when an Order in Council to this effect was passed. Prior to its creation, assistance in the development of Canada's foreign trade was provided by five Canadian Commercial Agents, who served on a part-time basis and were responsible to the Minister of Finance. On Jan. 1, 1895, a Canadian Commercial Agent was appointed at Sydney, Australia, on a full-time basis. He thus became the first Canadian Government Trade Commissioner, in the present meaning of the term.

The Canadian Commercial Agency Service was renamed the Canadian Trade Commissioner Service in 1907, as the term agent created the impression that an officer so designated had something to buy or sell. Officers devoting all their time to the promotion of Canadian trade, and on salary, were thus termed Canadian Trade Commissioners, while those receiving an honoraruum were still known as Commercial Agents. The following year, the position of Superintendent of Commercial Agencies was abolished, and a Deputy Minister of Trade and Commerce was appointed on Aug. 1, 1908. Forty-nine offices in 39 countries were maintained in 1953. In addition to trade commissioners and assistant trade commissioners, the foreign service officers included eight agricultural specialists, three fisheries specialists and one timber specialist. Where trade commissioners are members of a mission maintained by the Department of External Affairs, they are given diplomatic status and are known as Commercial Counsellors or Commercial Secretaries.

The Department of Trade and Commerce was expanded in 1945 to provide a wide range of additional services to Canadian businessmen, and now comprises the following Branches and Divisions: Canadian Trade Commissioner Service, Commodities Branch, Agriculture and Fisheries Branch, International Trade Relations Branch, Canadian Government Exhibition Commission, International Economic and Technical Co-operation Division (responsible for administration of the Colombo Plan), Information Branch, Industrial Development Division, Standards Branch, Capital Cost Allowance Division and Economics Division.

The following boards, commissions, Crown companies and agencies report to Parliament through the Minister of Trade and Commerce: Atomic Energy Control Board, Atomic Energy of Canada Limited, Board of Grain Commissioners, Canadian Patents and Development Limited, Canadian Wheat Board, Export Credits Insurance Corporation, National Research Council and Trans-Canada Air Lines.